Reflection

Cancer

What comes to mind when you hear the word cancer? How does it make you feel to consider the word? Does it make you feel fearful?

Do you have anyone in your family or in your circle who has died of this illness?

Personally I know many people who have died from this disease. This has left a strong feeling of fear in me. I remember what they went through and it was not easy at all.

Everytime I think of them and their suffering, I wish I could give them power to relieve their pain. I imagine myself having a super power to do it. I just cannot stand seeing anyone in pain, weak or hopeless.

I have a friend who is an Oncologyst. He said: ‘Actually you should worry too much about cancer. Because the number one killer is cardiovasculair disease. Anything with the heart disease. Not cancer!’

Cancer doesn’t happen very quickly. It takes time. It often has to do with our lifestyle and a lifestyle related to health includes our diet, exercise and sleeping. We can do something about it.

I felt so relieved hearing this from a doctor.

Dealing with our own fear is also very essential, how to become free from fear. Because fear is one of negative emotions that weakens our immune system. Being free from this emotion may give a very big impact to mental health and at the end it contributes to our happiness.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.