Reflection

A Birthday Surprise


Do you always consider your birthday as a special day? Why? Why not?

My birthday was last week. To be honest, I don’t think it is as a special day anymore. At least for the last few years, every birthday of mine has become a reminder that the rest of my life is getting shorter. For each birthday, it gets reduced one year at a time. This leads me to think that it is not suppossed to celebrated.

I didn’t even remember it until I came into the office my colleagues surprised me by singing the Happy Birthday song. They had been in the room before I arrived, eager to see my face light up with joy. A colleage knew me coming through the glass door, she saw my shoes.

When I opened the door, everybody started singing the song and clapping so enthusiastically. I admit that I enjoyed looking at everyone’s faces. They looked very happy and sincere.

I let them sing the song until it was finished. I kept standing there by the door, still holding my bag and carrying my laptop. When they finished singing I bowed very low like a Japanese person showing a respect or gratitude, and said: “Arigato!” the Japanese word for thank you.

It was a special birthday surprise for me, although without cake with candle! Most of us were fasting during this holy month of Ramadan. It is Ramadhan!

I got this delicious salad wrapped in soft tortilla for lunch from them. They knew it would make me feel happy.

It is a birthday salad, not a birthday cake!

They were so nice and sweet. This surprise was enough to make my day!

Times like this make me realise that birthday really can be special days. It’s the simple and little things in life we do for each other that light us up and bring happiness every year.

7 thoughts on “A Birthday Surprise

  1. You work with a kind group. Happy belated birthday! As we age, we have to look upon our birthday with gratitude for being granted another year on the planet. The journey is the reward!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.