Reflection

Atheist

I think topic of God is one of the most sensitive topics for a discussion unless they are spiritually mature and open.

Have you met someone who called himself or herself an atheist? Someone who doesn’t believe in God’s existance. Many people who consider themselves to be atheist won’t share it much with others. They might choose to keep it within themselves. Because one’s belief is so individual and very personal. And it’s OK to think this way and keep it as his own. Many people are not so open about this.

I know someone who openly said : “I don’t believe in God unless God is present in front of me, so I can see His form. I am an atheist.”

We have known each other quite well, in a sense of each one’s way of thinking. This topic was not a sensitive topic for both of us. At least he knew that I would not react to his statement unexpectedly or oppose his views. So he might have felt safe saying this to me. We were in conversation with another person.

To be honest, I didn’t know how to respond to his statement. I was silent. I was not responsible for him to accept what I believe. So I didn’t say anything. I kept myself from not being provoked by his statement. I avoided a debate with him. Well, it was his confusion and problem, not mine.

But this made me think in what form he expected to see God. Did he expect to see a physical figure? Was he also open to understand if God is not in a physical form? Was he only ready to see God with his physical eyes? Or was he also ready to see God through his heart or the eye of the soul? Was he aware that we were all limited. Everything that has a physical form or material is limited. Our eyes are limited, some of us need glassess to see objects better and clearer. Both of us wore glasses 🤭. We cannot see all that exist in the physical world with our eyes. Something is probably too small or too ‘subtle’ that only our heart can see it. Was he aware of this?

God is not a human being, for sure! He doesn’t have a physical body. If God has a physical body like us, God will become very limited. He needs a mother, a father, a place to stay. He needs to sleep or take a rest, because a physical body can get tired. It is not possible (at least for me) that God takes a break for sometimes. It doesn’t sound right. All of these were just in my head.

He then said: “Tini, I think you are an agnostic.”

The other person asked him what agnostic was. He defined that an agnostic as those who do not subscribe any particular religion and are not sure about God.

This time I gave him a response because I thought he was not fully right. I said: “I believe in God, I know God, I build a relationship with God, I consider my relationship with Him is quite real. I love Him, I need Him. I am sure of all that I said.”

I think the three of us are open people and hopefully spiritually mature. We didn’t find it to be a sensitive topic, though each one of us has a completely different views.

8 thoughts on “Atheist

  1. You are fortunate in this understanding. Many atheists actually bear witness to a fundamental confusion regarding the message of the Bible.

    Implicit throughout the book is that God’s love is perfect. What is difficult for us, then, is that God does not embrace us immediately. The Chosen People – and many believers – understand that the problem is sin, but the make the mistake of assuming that we should create rules and institutions to prevent acts that are sinful. These programs (the Law and Kings, among others) have disastrous consequences.

    I find it helpful, in dialog with atheists, to declare that love is ALWAYS an invitation. God does not seek to force anything upon us. In fact, God yearns to join us in marvelous relationships, but we MUST consent to that union.

    To many atheists, this seems obvious. Many of them do not realize that their understanding reflects cultural assimilation of the Holy Spirit. They follow the conventions of our society, enjoying the freedoms they allow. They suffer, however, with Nicodemus’ infirmity. As Jesus observed, “You feel the wind blow, but you know not from where it comes, or where it goes. You must be born again.” The moral atheist would benefit from confidently addressing the Presence in moments of doubt, to allow their heart to prompt them to ask the question, “What can I do to bring greater harmony to this situation?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe in God/Jesus, and believe as you do. He’s not limited to a man in the sky, but rather in all of us, and in all forms — an energy. And while I believe in Jesus, I can’t deny the existence of Buddha because I’ve had spiritual experiences involving both. My husband gets it and he’s the same.

    But I do have a friend who is more of the Catholic God mindset, where it’s a man in the sky judging people. Our God conversations are so limited and cringe, I find myself avoiding her because I feel like she’s pushing her beliefs on me a bit. (Like, she’ll talk, or talk about her friend who is a Bible “expert” but if I take the conversation to a higher plane, she backs down and changes the subject. Or stops answering my emails. It’s really not cool or not fair.

    Nevertheless, I’m very blessed I can talk spirituality for hours with my husband. It’s what I always wanted — to connect with someone physically, emotionally, intellectually, and spiritually. I couldn’t see myself without a spiritual partner.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some people are too fanatical that they are not ready to listen to different views. This type of person is usually very hard to themselves, quite often struggling inside. Externally they are judging other people, some even take roles as a ‘police’.

      Like

  3. I was raised in a Catholics boarding school in the South of Germany, a convent with nuns. Some nuns where teachers, others took care of us. I studied Latin and Old Greek, learned about Socrates and Plato and of course Jesus, who sounds a lot like the old Greek philosophers. At a certain age I just knew that I didn’t know what to believe and I claim to be agnostic. I don’t know if god(s) exist or if not. When I approached a nun with it she listened with an open mind and an open heart. She asked me how I wanted to spend my life as an adult and I told her I wanted to be a good person, like my grandma (who raised me.)
    I live my life without excuses, have used all my talents given, have been wealthy and poor and I have traveled the world. I have met people who believed in more than one god and some who don’t believe at all. I have read and compared most of the religious book (written by mankind).
    What I accomplish I have accomplished, when I fail, I have failed. When I do wrong I try to be better. I believe in equality for all, rich and poor.
    I do good when I can, because I have a lot to pay forward. I am not doing enough, because I am human. I don’t pray, I prefer to act. My neighbor goes to bible school, I go an volunteer at a homeless shelter for battered women. Who is the better person? And, most importantly, does it matter?
    The day I die I will get my answers and if there is a good, then I won’t have to be scared. If there is none, I won’t know about it. Perhaps I become a butterfly 🙂
    I wish religious folks would be more openminded. Let the atheists be atheists, judge them by what they do, not what they believe in.

    Years ago when politicians and voters discussed if gay people should have the right to marry a friend of mine made a joke. He said, “For heaven’s sake let them marry, they have a right to be as miserable as we are.” We all cracked up laughing.
    I wonder if the same goes for religion?
    I miss the times when religion was quiet, when people understood that it is a private belief and that it should stay private.
    And yes, I will unfollow you and please forgive the novel. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.